Tooth Soap

Or perhaps I should have said: ‘Buy indie, and I’ll wash your mouth out with soap.”

Handmade toothpaste and tooth powder came up in a recent post and since then I’ve been lucky enough to sample this fabulous, minty tooth soap from Rose of Sharon Acres, for sale on Etsy.

I’m always looking for ways to improve my health, and once I read the description of this soap, I had to try it. The seller quotes the book, Good Teeth from Birth to Death by Dr. Gerard F. Judd:

All oils are washed off the teeth and the gums are disinfected. The bacteria are killed by the soap. The teeth are then ready for reenamelization with calcium and phosphate in the diet…

Reenamelization is necessary on a daily basis because the enamel leaches slightly with water as well as the bones over decades leading to holey bones and holey teeth even in the absence of acid attack. Without reenamelization, we could never have good teeth.

I’ve now brushed my teeth with it several times. Here’s what I noticed. First, when you open the container, the most wonderfully fresh mint smell fills the air. The soap is shredded into single-use pieces, and you can see the purity of the product. It’s smooth and uniform, and when you brush your teeth with it, it will fill your mouth with a bubbly, soft lather.

After brushing and rinsing three times, my mouth felt, well, clean. It definitely tasted like soap, both during and after brushing, but it wasn’t overwhelming. I recommend heading over to their shop and giving it a try. It’s available in a sample-size container for $1.70, or $8 for a 2 month’s supply. (Compare to Crest and Toms of Maine (now Colgate) each at about $4 a tube from Drugstore.com.)

Rose of Sharon is taking requests for new flavors. If you have one you’d like to try, please leave it in a comment under this post, or contact them directly.

Also, I just finished a shower with a sample of the Orange Blossom Special soap. My skin feels incredibly soft, and the subtle fragrance and rich lather made for a heavenly shower.

And one final note, I will say: it’s not vegan. I somehow didn’t notice this (duh–Goat’s milk is their thing) until after I’d tried it. However, Rose of Sharon Acres is a family operation, the goats seem happy, and the soap is fabulous, so I stand by my recommendation.

Rose of Sharon Acres Kid

