Note, I put the title in quotes. I once walked into a typical bedding/furniture/knick-knack store, and they actually had a section called ‘Lifestyles.’ It housed items along the lines of these:

Pier One Horse Sculpture Matthew Stewart Glass Bird

The first of these (why do i always list the box-store pieces first?) is from Pier 1 Imports. As is typical of mega-retail items, I know almost nothing about this thing. The website lets me know it’s iron with a brushed nickel finish, it’s decorative, and it’s $40. Also that it’s sold out.

I have no idea if it’s a fair size comparison for this little glass bird, which measures about 4″ long, but Pier 1 mentions that the horse could be used as a bookend, so that seems about right. Obviously the materials are different.

And then there’s the cuteness: horsey does not compare. I love these little birds. Matthew Stewart hand sclupts them, and he’ll do one in any color you want. $18.

